Disseminating excellence and very high-standard research is one of our missions as a university press. Therefore, our governance aims at ensuring the best quality of the contents we publish on different levels: the Press' President, who assesses every book proposal submitted to the Press; the editorial board of the Press, which brings together the series editors; the series editors; the scientific board of each series; the peer reviewers.

At ÉUB, nearly all the manuscripts are published within a discipline-focused series covering (e.g. History, Political Science, Gender Studies, Religious Studies, etc.). 

The procedure:

Every book proposal is submitted directly to the Press. It includes a summary, a table of contents, and the description of technical features. Our acquisitions editor subsequently sends the proposal to the series editor of the targeted field to obtain preliminary approval. In parallel, the proposal is also submitted to the editorial board. Once approval secured, we will ask the author for the full manuscript (if/when ready). The series editor suggests a list of several scholars specialized in the topic who could peer review the manuscript. The acquisitions editor sends a blind manuscript to two reviewers. The reviews are generally provided within a period of eight weeks. They are examined by the Press and by the series editor. If the overall decision on the manuscript differs from one report to the other, the manuscript will be sent to a third reviewer.

Reviewers are asked to assess the following aspects in the manuscript: the quality of the contents, the methodology, the structure of the book, the added-value of the manuscript to the field of expertise, and also the overall language and writing quality of the manuscript. The reports are sent to the author, without mentioning the identity of the reviewers. The series editor also receives a copy of the reports.

In case the reviewers are very positive about the publication and do not require any further changes, the manuscript will enter production. When both reviews are negative, however, the manuscript will be rejected.

In case the reviewers request changes, the author submits a new version of the manuscript and, usually, addresses a letter to the reviewers explaining the changes that have been made. Once the referees and the series editor provide their approval, the manuscript can enter production.

It can happen that the series editors contact the reviewers directly to collect their reports. In that case, the ÉUB is kept informed all the way through the process.

To thank our reviewers, we offer all peer reviewers a selection of three titles from our publishing portfolio. Once the book is published, the reviewers also receive a copy.

Les Éditions de l'université de Bruxelles œuvrent à la diffusion de savoirs d'excellence. Pour cela, une gouvernance à plusieurs niveaux a été mise en place: le Président des Editions, qui évalue chaque proposition; le comité éditorial, qui rassemble les directeurs de nos collections et qui garantit la ligne générale des Éditions ; le comité scientifique de chaque collection; les évaluateurs.

Aux EUB, quasi tous les manuscrits sont publiés dans une collection aux contours disciplinaires bien définis (histoire, science politique, études de genres, études des religions, etc.)

La procédure d'évaluation des manuscrits :

Chaque proposition d'ouvrage soumise aux Éditions inclut un résumé, une table des matières, et une description générale de l’ouvrage et de ses caractéristiques techniques. L’éditeur/l’éditrice envoie cette proposition au directeur de collection concerné qui évalue ces premiers documents et donne son accord de principe. En parallèle, cette proposition est adressée au comité éditorial pour évaluation.

Une fois ce double accord de principe reçu, nous demandons le manuscrit complet à l’auteur et entamons l’évaluation du manuscrit. Le directeur de collection suggère les noms de collègues belges ou internationaux, experts dans le domaine traité. Les évaluateurs sont généralement au nombre de deux. Ils disposent de huit semaines pour remettre leur rapport sur le manuscrit. Ils ne connaissent pas l’identité de l’auteur. Une fois les rapports reçus, le directeur de collection et les Éditions les examinent et les font parvenir à l’auteur, en effaçant également les identités. L’évaluation se fait en double aveugle. Le rapport porte sur la qualité générale du manuscrit, la méthodologie, la structure du livre, la valeur ajoutée du manuscrit, les qualités linguistiques et stylistiques.

Lorsque les évaluateurs sont favorables à la publication, et ne préconisent pas de changement, le manuscrit peut entrer en fabrication. Si les deux rapports sont négatifs alors la proposition est rejetée. Si les rapports ne concordent pas du tout, un troisième évaluateur est sollicité. Lorsque les évaluateurs demandent des changements et des améliorations, l’auteur envoie une nouvelle version du manuscrit ainsi qu’un document expliquant les changements opérés. Une fois approuvée par les évaluateurs, cette nouvelle version entre en fabrication.

Il peut arriver que les directeurs de collection contactent les évaluateurs directement. Dans ce cas, les Éditions sont tenues informées du processus à chaque étape et reçoivent copie des rapports.  

Pour remercier nos évaluateurs, nous leur offrons trois titres de leur choix dans le catalogue, en plus du livre évalué qu’ils recevront à sa parution.